Polish candidates for the Junior Eurovision Song Contest revealed!


The Polish national broadcaster, TVP, has recently revealed that Poland will be back to the Junior Eurovision Song Contest after a long absence. Today, the complete list of 10 participating songs and their performers was finally published. 

The Eurovision contests are getting bigger and bigger in Poland. After three consecutive qualifications to the Eurovision Song Contest finals and victories in the contests like Eurovision Young Dancers 2015 and Eurovision Young Musicians 2016, it was decided by the Polish broadcaster that Poland will participate in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016 in Malta. After receiving plenty of entries from the young Polish hopefuls, TVP invited 15 of them to take part in the casting where the young artists had to perform their songs live. 10 of them were chosen to fight for the right to represent Poland during the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The Polish candidates are:

  • Dominika Ptak – Jak kropla
  • Julia Chmielarska – Na skrzydłach dni
  • Ania Dąbrowska – Fryzurka
  • ARFIK band – Tango dla kotów 
  • Olivia Wieczorek – Nie zapomnij
  • Amelia Andryszczyk – Title to be announced
  • Ula Dorosz – Title To be announced
  • ASMki band – Do końca świata
  • Jagoda Krystek – Title To be announced
  • WAMWAY band – Title to be announced

Among finalists of Polish national final, there are mainly female solists and bands. As TVP encouraged, some songs are self-penned entries but we have ones written by experienced song-writers as well. One of them is Olivia Wieczorek’s Nie zapomnij. The author of this song is Piotr Rubik – famous composer of symphonic pop. Olivia Wieczorek itself is known to Polish audience thanks to the participation in one of kids’ talent show Mali Giganci (Little Gigants).

In addition, Polish broadcaster announced the jury, which will be involved in the final result (in 50%) together with the viewers. In the jury, we will see Margaret who was the 2nd in Polish National Final 2016 with song Cool me down. The second judge will be Ania Wyszkoni – popular singer who was the 2sd in Polish National Final 2004 with song Julia, tak na imię mam (together with band Łzy). The only male juror will be Marcin Kusy – Polish Radio 1’s radio host.

Let’s remind that Poland returns to the contest after a long absence of 12 years, participating in the competition only twice. Kasia Żurawik represented Poland in 2003 with a song Coś mnie nosi and the girlband KWADro participated with a song Łap życie. Both songs finished last with only 3 points in total.

The Polish National Final for the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Saturday,  October 15th at 17:30 (local time) while the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place on Sunday, November 20th.

Source: TVP, junioreurovision.tv